House Engel on the Swabian Alb

The clients originally wanted to renovate and enlarge the old building that was on the property. In addition, we explored the option of a new building, and it became clear that such a building would be easier to realise and the programme could be implemented more advantageously.
The building, which is approached from the south, along the lower edge of a steep lawn that ends to the north at the edge of the woods, lies perpendicular to the slope and rests on a plinth that houses the garage and ancillary spaces. An external straight-run stair leads to the residential level, with its entrance on the western side. The linear building divides the property into one part that is more public and another that is private.
Floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors provide daylight to the residential level from two sides. To the south they open onto a balcony, while to the north they lead to a shielded outdoor area with a swimming pool, pergola and garden pavilion. The kitchen and living area are combined, behind which are a library and a guest apartment. On the floor above are the family bedrooms.
Exposed concrete ceilings (board formwork) and white built-in furniture dominate the interior. Since the mixture of bricks used in Rottenburg was unavailable, several attempts were needed to obtain the desired colouring and texture achieved in that project.

Client:

Private

Architects:

LRO Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Team:

Eva Caspar, Daniel Steinhübl, Fabian Wieczorek

Site Supervision:

wäschle architekten, Balingen

Publications:

Md – interior/design/architecture
02|2021

Photos:

Roland Halbe

House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb
House Engel on the Swabian Alb

Haus E Schwäbische Alb

Ursprünglich bestand der Wunsch, das alte Gebäude, das sich auf dem Grundstück befand, zu renovieren und zu erweitern. Wir untersuchten parallel dazu die Möglichkeit eines Neubaus, wobei sich herausstellte, dass ein solcher einfacher zu realisieren war und das Programm besser umgesetzt werden konnte.

Man nähert sich dem Gebäude von der südlichen Seite am Fuß einer steilen Wiese, die im Norden an einem Waldsaum endet. Es liegt quer zum Hang und ruht auf einem Sockel, der Garage und Nebenräume aufnimmt. Zum Wohngeschoss mit Eingang an der Westseite führt eine außen liegende einläufige Treppe.
Das Wohngeschoss wird über raumhohe Glasschiebetüren von zwei Seiten belichtet. Zur Südseite hin öffnen diese sich auf einen Balkon, nach Norden zu dem nicht einsehbaren Freibereich mit Schwimmbad, Laube und Gartenpavillon. Küche und Wohnbereich sind zusammengefasst, dahinter schließen die Bibliothek und ein Gästeapartment an. Im Geschoss darüber befinden sich die Schlafräume.

Sichtbetondecken (Bretterschalung) prägen den Innenraum. Dem Bauherrenpaar gefiel die Diözesankurie in Rottenburg gut, insbesondere deren geschlämmte Fassade. Mehrere Anläufe waren nötig, um mit der Schlämme die gewünschte Färbung und Struktur des Vorbildes zu erhalten, da die Ziegelmischung des Rottenburger Projekts nicht erhältlich war.

Bauherr:

Privat

Architekten:

LRO Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Mitarbeiter:

Eva Caspar, Daniel Steinhübl, Fabian Wieczorek

Bauleitung:

wäschle architekten, Balingen

Fotos:

Roland Halbe

Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb
Haus E Schwäbische Alb