School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal

In the Cologne district of Lindenthal, the Archdiocese of Cologne expanded the school premises of the Liebfrauenschule (School of Our Lady) secondary school, the Domsingschule (Cathedral Choir School) primary school, and the Kölner Dommusik (Cologne Cathedral Music) with additional classrooms and rehearsal rooms as well as a central canteen. The school functions are complemented by ten housing units on the upper floors.
For the musical training, especially at the Domsingschule, new rehearsal rooms have been provided for individual and group instruction. Both the Domsingschule and the Liebfrauenschule have oriented their teaching activities to an all-day school programme, resulting in the need for a canteen. It is designed with the capacity to serve up to 300 meals simultaneously and up to 800 meals in total each day. Furthermore, the intention is to be able to use the canteen’s dining hall as an event venue.
The building plot measures approx. 3,300 m² and is located directly next to the Church of the Resurrection of Christ, designed by Gottfried Böhm.
Clarenbachstraße runs along the north and provides access to the property. To the east, along Brucknerstraße, is a public park with chestnut trees that are recognised natural monuments listed in the register of historical monuments of the city of Cologne. To the south is the Church of the Resurrection, and to the west the property borders on an existing gymnasium for the Domsingschule and an adjoining sunken courtyard.
The building complex is new construction of medium height that is classified as a built structure of special type or use (special structure). Consisting of three upper floors, the ground floor and a basement, the building form is articulated into three different volumes. The principal volume is entered on the ground floor via a central lobby. Adjoining one side of this volume is the kitchen, including sanitary facilities. On the other side are four large rehearsal halls, which are accessed from a central corridor.
On the upper storeys are ten housing units, each with approx. 80 to 140 m² of living space. The first floor is supplemented by 30 practice booths for school use. In the basement are an underground car park, technical and storage areas and the toilet facilities for the school.
Connected to the southern side of the main volume is the single-storey block of the canteen dining room. This area is spanned by a lightweight wood structure supporting the lightest possible roof assembly.
The third volume directly adjoins the Church of the Resurrection over two storeys. The classrooms and canteen are accessible by foot across a courtyard (the “Sing Garden”) that opens to the Domsingschule and through a passageway to the forecourt of the church, while access to the housing units is from the north via Clarenbachstraße.

Client:
Erzbistum Köln, Generalvikariat Abteilung Bau, Köln

Architects:
LRO Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei Architekten, Stuttgart

Team:
Frank Bohnet, Philipp Gantenbrink

Project Management:
Drees & Sommer Köln GmbH

Structural Engineering:
Leonhardt, Andrä und Partner Beratende Ingenieure VBI AG, Stuttgart

Test Statistics of the Engineering Construction:
Pirlet & Partner Baukonstruktionen, Ingenieurgesellschaft mbH, Köln

Building Engineering:
Ingenieurbüro Heiming, Köln

Structural Physics:
ISRW Klapdor GmbH, Düsseldorf

Fire Protection Planning:
Kempen Krause Ingenieure GmbH, Aachen

Competitive Multiple Commission:
04/2014 – 1. Rang

Construction Period:
2017 – 2020

Gross floor area:
5.300 m2

Effective Area:
3.800 m2

Location:
Clarenbachstraße 1, 50931 Köln

Photos
Roland Halbe, Stuttgart

School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal
School Annex and Housing, Cologne-Lindenthal

Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal

Das Erzbistum Köln erweitert die Schulstandorte Liebfrauenschule (Gymnasium), Domsingschule (Grundschule), sowie die Kölner Dommusik in Köln-Lindenthal durch zusätzliche Schul- und Übungsräume sowie eine Zentralmensa. Ergänzt wird die schulische Nutzung durch zehn Wohneinheiten in den Obergeschossen.

Für die musikalische Ausbildung, insbesondere an der Kölner Domsingschule, werden neue Übungsräume für den Einzel- und Gruppenunterricht vorgesehen. Sowohl die Domsingschule als auch die Liebfrauenschule haben ihren Lehrbetrieb auf die Ganztagesschulform ausgerichtet, wodurch sich die Notwendigkeit einer Mensa ergibt. Diese ist danach ausgerichtet, täglich bis zu 300 Mahlzeiten gleichzeitig bzw. bis max. 800 Mahlzeiten insgesamt anbieten zu können. Darüber hinaus ist beabsichtigt, den Speisesaal der Mensa als Veranstaltungsstätte nutzen zu können.
Das Baugrundstück befindet sich in direkter Nachbarschaft der Kirche Christi Auferstehung von Gottfried Böhm in Köln-Lindenthal.

Nördlich verläuft die Clarenbachstraße, über welche das Grundstück erschlossen wird. Ostwärts, der Brucknerstraße folgend, befindet sich eine öffentliche Grünanlage mit Kastanienbäumen, welche als Naturdenkmäler in die Denkmalliste der Stadt Köln eingetragen sind. Südlich befindet sich die Auferstehungskirche und im Westen grenzt das Grundstück an eine bestehende Sporthalle der Kölner Domsingschule und daran anschließendem Tiefhof.

Bei dem Neubau handelt es sich um einen Gebäudekomplex mittlerer Höhe als bauliche Anlage besonderer Art oder Nutzung (Sonderbau). Bestehend aus drei Obergeschossen, Erd- und Untergeschoss, gliedert sich der Baukörper in drei unterschiedliche Gebäudevolumen. Der Hauptbaukörper wird im Erdgeschoss durch ein zentral gelegenes Foyer erschlossen. Daran schließt sich einerseits die Küche, inklusive Sanitäranlagen an. Auf der anderen Seite befinden sich vier größere Probesäle, die durch einen zentral gelegenen Flur erreicht werden.

In den Obergeschossen befinden sich zehn Wohneinheiten von ca. 80 bis 140 qm Wohnfläche. Für den Schulbetrieb wird das 1. Obergeschoss durch 30 Übezellen ergänzt. Im Unterschoss befindet sich eine Tiefgarage, Technik- und Lagerflächen sowie die Sanitärbereiche der Schule.

An den Hauptbaukörper bindet nach Süden der Speiseraum der Mensa als eingeschossiger Baukörper an. Diesem Bereich überspannt eine leichte Holzstruktur mit möglichst leichtem Dachaufbau.

Der dritte Baukörper fügt sich über zwei Geschosse direkt an die Kirche Christi Auferstehung an. Die Unterrichtsräume und Mensa werden über einen zur Domsingschule offenen Hof (Singgarten) und dem Durchgang zum Vorplatz der Kirche fußläufig erschlossen, wohingegen der Zugang zu den Wohneinheiten von Norden über die Clarenbachstraße erfolgt.

Bauherr:
Erzbistum Köln, Generalvikariat Abteilung Bau, Köln

Architekten:
LRO Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Mitarbeiter:
Frank Bohnet, Philipp Gantenbrink

Projektsteuerung:
Drees & Sommer Köln GmbH

Tragwerksplanung:
Leonhardt, Andrä und Partner Beratende Ingenieure VBI AG, Stuttgart

Planung TGA:
Ingenieurbüro Heiming, Köln

Bauphysik:
ISRW Klapdor GmbH, Düsseldorf

Brandschutz:
Kempen Krause Ingenieure GmbH, Aachen

Mehrfachbeauftragung:
04/2014 – 1. Rang

Bauzeit:
2017 – 2020

BGF:
5.300 m2

Nutzfläche:
3.800 m2

Standort:
Clarenbachstraße 1, 50931 Köln

Fotos
Roland Halbe, Stuttgart

Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal
Schulerweiterung und Wohnen Köln-Lindenthal